Closed today

Opening hours

Fri Entré



ArkDes awarded Sutnar Prize

The Ladislav Sutnar Faculty of Design and Art at the University of West Bohemia has awarded ArkDes and the museum’s deputy director, Eric De Groat, the Ladislav Sutnar Prize for working to raise awareness about architecture and design, and for ensuring public access to one of the world’s most important architectural collections.
The prize is awarded annually by the Ladislav Sutnar Faculty at the University of West Bohemia to national and international artists, educators and institutions for educational achievements within the areas of art and design.

The Jury’s motivation:
“The Ladislav Sutnar Prize goes to Eric De Groat, deputy director of ArkDes, the Swedish national centre for architecture and design, for the indisputable achievements in the promotion of architecture and design and for the incubation and spin-off activities for students and graduates in the field of art and design.

The centre’s mission is to raise the awareness of and cultivate the discussion about the influence architecture and design have on everyday human life. To achieve this goal, ArkDes organizes educational programmes, ensures access of both researchers and the public to a library and a collection encompassing about 4 million objects of global importance, and co-organizes a number of international curatorial and research projects.”

“For ArkDes, the prize illuminates the high regard with which we’re seen internationally, both as a museum and as a centre for discussion and debate about architecture and design. For me personally, it’s recognition of a professional life entirely dedicated to promoting the opportunities for artists and creators to reach an audience, and through different forms of support, establish themselves on a tough market,” says Eric De Groat.

Other 2018 prize winners are Gerrit Rietveld Academie (the Netherlands), academic painter Helena Krbcová (the Czech Republic), Songshan Cultural and Creative Park (Taiwan), Stichting NDSM-werf (the Netherlands).

Among previous years’ award winners can be mentioned the Museum of Modern Art (MoMa) in New York, the Art Institute of Chicago, Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum, designer Gere Kavanaugh from the US, and designer Anthon Beeke from the Netherlands.